Current Lab Members

Richard Vallee, Principal Investigator
[email protected]
Aditi Falnikar, Posdoctoral Researcher
[email protected]

Aditi started her postdoctoral work at Columbia in March 2017 in the department of Pathology and Cell Biology. Her work focuses on the role of molecular motor proteins in health and disease, especially in rare diseases of the nervous system. She is supported by a fellowship from the Irving Institute of Clinical and Translational Research.

Sebastian Quitremil, PhD student
[email protected]

Sebastian is from Santiago, Chile. He got his Master in Biochemistry Degree and Undergraduate Degree in the University of Chile. Currently, Sebastian is a Fulbright scholar part of the Integrated PhD program at Columbia University Medical Center. In the Vallee lab he is working with adaptor proteins and molecular motors to understand the mechanisms that control transport of vesicles between the Golgi Apparatus and the Endoplasmic Reticulum.

Noopur Khobrekar, PhD student
[email protected]
Julie Yi, PhD student
[email protected]

Julie received her B.S. and M.S. in Physics from UCLA and UC Irvine, respectively. She joined the Vallee lab in 2006 as a technician then re-joined the same lab as a graduate student in 2015. She has extensive knowledge in vesicular transport in neuronal and non-neuronal cells. She has also successfully completedĀ Med into GradĀ program, a highly competitive program designed to expose clinical problems to basic science students. She is currently studying pathomechanisms of neuromuscular diseases such as SMA-LED.

Paige Helmer, PhD student
[email protected]

Paige received her Bachelor’s degrees in biochemistry, biology, and chemistry at the University of Chicago. She joined the lab in 2017 and is currently working on mechanisms of cell fate determination in neural stem cells, and how motor proteins are involved in that process. Ultimately she hopes to study brain development in cephalopods.


Past Members

Joao Carlos Goncalves

Chiara Bertipaglia

Aurelie Carabalona

Caitlin Wynne

Tiago Dantas

David Doobin

Jie Zhou

Daniel Hu

Alexandre Baffet

Sarah Weil

Shahrnaz Kemal

Julian Scherer