Group Events

Past and Present Chen Group Member Dinner at NAM28


Left Side [front to back]: Dr. Lizzy Mahoney, Dr. Tianyou Mou, Will Porter, Prof. Qiaowan Chang, Dr. Xue Han
Right Side [front to back]: Prof. Brian Tackett, Samay Garg, Dr. Yong Yuan, Hansen Mou
Chen group members, both past and present, attended the 28th Biennial North American Catalysis Society Meeting (NAM28) in Providence, Rhode Island. A celebratory dinner was held after successfully presenting at the conference.

Former Chen Group Members Celebrate Prof. Chen’s 2020 R.H. Wilhelm Award

Back Row [left to right]: Dr. Zhenhua Xie (Columbia), Prof. Lea Winter (Yale), Prof. Shyam Kattel (Florida A&M), Dr. Yuying Shu (WR Grace), Prof. Jingguang Chen, Dr. Elizabeth Mahoney (ExxonMobil), Prof. Brian Tackett (Purdue), Prof. John Kitchin (Carnegie Mellon), Dr. Elaine Gomez (ExxonMobil), Kevin Turaczy (Columbia), Dr. Yong Yuan (BNL), Dr. William Lonergan (ExxonMobil)
Front Row [left to right]: Dr. Myat Myint (LyondellBasell), Prof. Dan Esposito (Columbia), Prof. Marc Porosoff (Rochester)

At the 2022 Fall AIChE conference in Phoenix, Arizona, past Chen group members organized a symposium to celebrate Prof. Chen’s 2020 R.H. Wilhelm award (postponed due to COVID). Group members discussed their previous and current research culminating in a presentation by Prof. Chen titled “Chemical Engineering Approaches for Catalytic Reduction of CO2.”